Board of Trustees

Corban University is governed by an autonomous, self-perpetuating Board of Trustees. Board members are selected for three-year terms. They are vested with the responsibility of setting broad policies that govern all aspects of the University. The executive committee of the board consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Chairs of the standing committees, and the President of the University. The board meets in October, February, and May.

These men and women love the Lord Jesus Christ and Corban University, sacrificing their time, talent, and resources to provide direction and oversight.

Board of Trustees

Current Members

Board Chair: Rod Hoff 
Vice President, Total Rewards at State Farm Insurance (retired)
Scottsdale, AZ

Karen Avinelis 
Founder & CEO of Thomas Creek Farms 
Jefferson, Oregon 

Doug Beals 
National Account Manager at United Technologies Supra 
Salem, Oregon 

Joe Beattie 
President of Harbor Pipe & Steel Inc. 
Riverside, California 

Jim Carlson 
Lead Residency Accreditation Surveyor at ASHP 
Seattle, Washington 

Ryan Dempster 
President & CEO at Willamette Valley Bank 
Salem, Oregon

Ed Dressel
President at Retire Ready Solutions
Dallas, Oregon

Deanna Gardiner-Garcia 
Owner & Partner at Lester, Roach & Gardiner 
Watsonville, California 

Patti Garrido 
Community Volunteer 
Bixby, Oklahoma

James Gleason 
Executive Director at Church Venture Network Northwest
Hillsboro, Oregon

Mark Hanke 
Pastor at Salem First Baptist Church 
Salem, Oregon 

Rev. Craig Hardinger 
Lead Pastor at Arcade Church 
Sacramento, California 

Valerie Webb 
Staff Pastor at Twin Lakes Church 
Aptos, California 

Jim White 
CPA at James O. White, CPA, LLC 
Tualatin, Oregon 

Emeritus Members

Jerry Cudney (Advancement/Mktg) 

Curtis Horton (Finance/Audit) 

Donn Mogford (Acad/Student Life) 

Nicholas, Th.D. , Rev. David R. (Acad/Student Life) 

Joyce (Jo) Sherman (Acad/Student Life) 

Contact the Board

Questions or comments for the Board of Trustees may be submitted via email to