Skip to main content
Corban University

General COVID-19 Info

What is the coronavirus?

The coronavirus, also known as COVID-19, is a viral respiratory disease, caused by a virus called SARS-CoV-2. It spreads through person-to-person contact, including airborne droplets from coughing and sneezing. Research indicates that people may be contagious even when they are asymptomatic (not showing symptoms). Symptoms, which may appear 2-14 days after exposure, include:

  • Fever
  • Cough
  • Shortness of breath

How serious is the coronavirus?

While the virus itself often presents as a mild respiratory illness, presenting as a more serious illness for older populations and those with underlying medical conditions, communities are treating the spread of the disease seriously with social-distancing measures.

I’m feeling anxiety regarding COVID-19. What should I do?

We recognize that the extent to which our daily lives have been disrupted may lead to feelings of anxiety or stress. Our Director of Corban Mental Health Clinics, Lori Schelske, has provided the following resource regarding working through feelings of anxiety: https://www.virusanxiety.com/take-care. As always, seek God’s wisdom through Scripture and professional help when needed.

How can I help right now?

The best thing you can do for yourself and others to prevent the spread of COVID-19 is to adhere to your county’s guidelines for social distancing. This might look like:

See the CDC’s recommendations for proper hand washing

What should I do if I feel sick?

First, do not panic. We encourage you to treat your illness like any other, and seek medical care when necessary. Here are 10 things you can do to manage your COVID-19 symptoms from home.

If you have reason to believe you have been exposed to the COVID-19/Coronavirus, the CDC recommends: “Call ahead to a healthcare professional if you develop a fever and symptoms of respiratory illness, such as cough or difficulty breathing, and have been in close contact with a person known to have COVID-19 or if you live in or have recently traveled to an area with ongoing spread. Tell your healthcare professional about your recent travel or contact. Your healthcare professional will work with your state’s public health department and CDC to determine if you need to be tested for COVID-19.”

Additional questions may be directed to the following individuals:

COVID-19 Planning – Brandy Ragain: bragain@corban.edu

Admissions Questions – admissions@corban.edu

Campus Events – Hannah Belleque: schedule@corban.edu

Athletic Events – Jarett Thoren: jthoren@corban.edu

Residence Life – Nathan Geer: ngeer@corban.edu

Employee Concerns – Lori Bonham: lbonham@corban.edu

Faculty Concerns – Tom Cornman: tcornman@corban.edu

Facilities – Troy Croff: tcroff@corban.edu

Safety Concerns – Mike Roth: mroth@corban.edu

International Travel – Janine Allen: jallen@corban.edu

Thank you for playing your part in keeping our campus healthy and safe!

Additional updates and information can be found at https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/index.html