Corban earns NAIA Five-Star Award for tenth time

Friday, October 4, 2013

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – For the tenth time since 2002, Corban University has been named a National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Champions of Character Five-Star Institution for its commitment to the five core character values that are embraces throughout the NAIA during the 2012-13 season.

In order to be considered a Champions of Character Five-Star Institution, a school must score 60 or more total points on the Champions of Character Scorecard. The Champions of Character Scorecard measures each institution's commitment to the NAIA Champions of Character program. Points are earned in five key areas: character training, conduct in competition, character recognition, academic focus and character promotion.

Corban, who scored 78 points on the Champions of Character Scorecard this year, was one of eight Cascade Collegiate Conference schools to be named as a 2012-13 Five-Star Institution joining Eastern Oregon (88 points), The College of Idaho (83), Concordia (73), Northwest Christian (72), Northwest (64), Southern Oregon (61), and Warner Pacific (61).

"Achieving the NAIA Champions of Character Five-Star Award for the tenth time in eleven years is a testament to our athletes, coaches, faculty and support staff who all have a tremendous impact on our athlete's lives and on our receiving an award like this," said Director of Athletics Greg Eide. "Corban University has created a history and a culture of high integrity, hard-working athletes who strive to use their athletic skills to honor the Lord. When combined with their success in the classroom, we couldn't be prouder of the manner in which our student-athletes are conducting themselves."

This year, NAIA-member institutions average a 67.48 score on the Champions of Character Scorecard, which is comparable to the 2011-12 mark of 67.63. However, among Five-Star Champions of Character Institutions, the average score is 73.55—an improvement of over a point from last year's figure of 71.91.

In total, 217 schools within the NAIA were named Five-Star Champions of Character institutions for 2012-13. Among these honorees were 23 NAIA-member schools that have been recognized as Champions of Character Institutions (2002-09) and Champions of Character Five-Star Institutions (2010-13) every year since the inception of the institutional award.

Oklahoma Baptist University is the top-scoring NAIA Champions of Character Five-Star Institution this year with 99 out of a possible 100 points on the Champions of Character Scorecard, as the Bison rank fourth all-time behind Cornerstone University (Mich.) with 103 points in 2009-10 & 2010-11 and Montana Tech of the University of Montana with 100 points in 2011-12.

Since 1937, the NAIA has administered programs and championships in proper balance with the overall educational experience. In 2000, the NAIA reaffirmed its purpose to enhance the character-building aspects of sport. Through the Champions of Character program, the NAIA seeks to create an environment in which every student-athlete, coach, official and spectator is committed to the true spirit of competition through five core values: integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship and servant leadership.

For more information about the NAIA Champions of Character Scorecard, click here.

  • Warriors athletics has earned the NAIA's Five-Star Award 10 times since 2002.

Latest News

Load more news!
View news page